The New Normal

Hi all! It has been awhile since my last post but as a new mum, I’m sure you will forgive me. The last three months have definitely been the hardest of my entire life and coming out the end of it feels like victory (I’m sure you with children COMPLETELY understand). Nothing anyone can say to you can prepare you for the journey of parenthood and basically through trial and error, I find myself growing and learning everyday. For me it has been a crazy journey of finding the ‘New Normal’.

As an expecting mum, I had a sense of excitement, joy and expectation about parenthood…oh how naive I was haha! Nothing seemed to go as I had planned. I had to have a c-section (definitely not what I wanted), I really struggled to breast feed (which led to super mummy guilt about using formula, stupid I know but real), I was anxious about everything, would he sleep, would I get enough sleep, when would he wake up, why is he always hungry… this craziness along with family leaving led me into a little bit of a downwards spiral. Teacher, organised, extroverted Lorna was really struggling with this newfound motherhood and all the ‘lack of control’ that comes with it.

Thankfully, although far from home, we had huge support. Our pastors and church family here have been incredible! With people coming to stay to help out, food being delivered and  people organising catch ups with me throughout the week (this is just a small part of what they have done). Praise God for social Media connecting me with friends, family and Mums from our church family in NZ who would text and call me at a moments notice. Also, Eugene has been the most amazing husband and father through this season.

It’s taken a bit of time, a lot of learning and patience but I am so love with our lil man and so enjoy seeing him grow and change EVERYDAY!  I have gone from counting down the days till I return to work to dreading being apart from him for the 8 hours I have to teach. Our little man is such a joy! Loves his food, loves to kick, jump and play. He is a growing, happy, healthy boy. 

We’re about to embark on our first holiday as a family to Thailand! So I will leave you with some photos of our gorgeous wee lad and with a promise of more frequent posts to come!

As allways, Love and Blessings

Lorna 

Leave a Reply

